My room makeover

Image

    Hello everyone, I wanted to talk about my room makeover that I did in September , it was definitely a very interesting and fun project to work on. At first I didn’t really know what I wanted to do with it at all, all i knew was that I needed to change my room asap. As you can see it was a mess, i had no storage at all,writing all over the walls,a broken bed and closet! It was just a mess and it made me very depressed, I really could not focus because of the lack of space and light and all the clutter. It was just the beginning of my yoga , and I did not even have a place to practice, instead of coming home to relax, I came home to madness . Anyways, so I decided I had to change it, at first I was going to paint it green since it’s my favorite color, but later I got help from my friend Amani who is an interior designer and she is very creative . All I really had to do is tell her the kind of room I wanted, so I wanted a relaxing room where I could do my yoga and pilates and be able to just think and clear my mind. So she thought that I should go for a Japanese inspired bedroom which is something I did not even think about until she came up with it. We got a low bed frame from Ikea and placed my old mattress, then we added the Japanese styled cabinets which I customized myself (also from Ikea) and brownish colored wallpaper that had transparent flowers just above the bed and off white plain wallpaper for the rest of the room. We also added a couch (customized) and a little dark brown bookcase(ikea) that went with the bed and cabinet. Also on the walls we added dark brown wood borders to enhance the wallpaper and separate the two wallpapers. The final touches were a little bamboo tree and coffee table (both from Ikea) also we added a dimmer so I could dim my lights to really give me that spa like feeling. I truly feel like this new room gave me a new start because your room is where you spend most of your time for thinking and such. You should search online to see what kind of room you would like,there are also many books if you are really stuck . Hope you enjoyed this post 🙂

Leave a comment